Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Beautiful CreaturesVerdict:
Title: Beautiful Creatures
Author: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Publish Date: 3 January 2013
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 576
Genre: YA, fantasy, paranormal, romance
Series Number: Caster Chronicles #1
Source: Spinebreakers (Penguin), finished copy

I had known of Beautiful Creatures for a long time before I read the book. Although, when I say I had known about the book, all I really mean is that I recognised the title and the book’s cover design. The novel had never interested me because by ‘creatures’ I thought they literally meant animals and so I had never gathered any motivation to read it. However, hearing that it was being adapted for the screen and learning a general sense of the plot, I must admit that my interest towards Beautiful Creatures did perk up a bit.

I wasn’t surprised that I ended up enjoying Beautiful Creatures in the end. I found Ethan Wate’s writing style at the beginning of the book very original and I couldn’t help making similarities to such key protagonists in literature, such as Holden Caulfield. Although, I had to read some sentences over again because I didn’t fully understand the references of what Ethan was meaning. This original voice seemed to disintegrate over the course of the book (which I wasn’t totally complaining about) as the plot became a more predominant feature.

I liked how the two authors altered our concept of the ‘witch’ and ‘spell casters’ as they brought in ideas of the Civil War and the town of South Carolina still remained fundamental to the story, which I believe is key as I’m not a huge fan of when books move swiftly from the human world to fantasy. For the reasoning of the writing style I believe that the book is more guided for an over 16 audience as you will be able to understand the reference a bit more so you can connect better with the novel.

Looking back I’m quite shocked at how long the book was as not a lot seemed to happen within the course of the book. Although, this is the first in the series so I believe the pace of the sequels will quicken up whereas the first novel is more of an introduction to the characters and setting.

Leave a Reply

